Cake Painting Course at Pretty Witty Cakes

I attended a cake painting course at Pretty Witty Cakes  together with my friend Natalie from Cuppies n Cream yesterday.

Natalie and I at the course on our lunch break! Probably hyper from all the sweets we consumed 😉

cuppies n cream wokingham cakes

I must admit I initially felt completely out of my depth and honestly thought I would fail at it as my painting skills were totally nonexistent up until yesterday.The most I have ever done is on a leopard print cake :)!

leopard print

Considering I was a complete beginner at cake painting, I was totally surprised by my achievement. A very special thank you to Suzi and Natasha, who was our  course tutor from Nevie Pie Cakes. She took her time to demystify all things cake painting

The course covered a number of skills to include:

  • cake painting basics
  • required materials and how to look after them
  • how to prepare your cake ready for painting (the cakes were already covered for us so you would need to be able to cover a cake in fondant already should you want to attend this course
  • how to correct any mistakes (which was surprisingly easy!)
  • how to achieve image depth and movement to your flowers

We were taught how to paint dog roses, daisies, berries, stems, buds and leaves on both a large dummy cake as well as miniature version of the design on cupcake toppers. Natasha shared loads of tips which are transferrable onto other projects.

Here is my attempt at hand painting

Hand Painted cake

Large cake and the cupcake topper

SONY DSC

I would highly recommend the course. It changed the way I look at cake painting -not as daunting as I thought initially. It was worth the time and effort it took to attend.

Have you been on a cake painting course? Is there any course on  your wish list or one you recommend?

4 thoughts on “Cake Painting Course at Pretty Witty Cakes

Leave a Reply

