Egg Free Sponge Cake Recipe

My 4th blog post! I know it’s early days yet but am pretty excited that I have kept up with my blog. Hope I keep it up :).

I shared this recipe a little while ago on my old blog which I have since taken down. I felt I needed to start over again in the hope that I will enjoy the new start and  keep myself motivated. Seems to have worked thus far.

A few people have also asked if I have dairy AND egg free version of this recipe. I do not have  tried and tested one yet, but will work on it.

This cake is pretty simple to make and is stays moist for days. I used a 9 inch round pan to make this.

egg free sponge cake

You will need:

315 g Self raising flour
1/4 teaspoon salt (omit if using salted butter)
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
397g can of condensed milk
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
225g unsalted butter melted
225 ml orange juice

Method;

  • Preheat oven to 150°C fan/ 180°C Conventional. Grease and line baking pan
  • In a bowl sift together the dry ingredients
  • In a separate bowl mix the wet ingredients, then pour into the dry ingredients and mix well.
  • Pour batter into prepared pan and bake until golden and skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. This takes about 45 minutes in my oven
Happy baking!
Leave a Reply

