Over The Top Chocolate Marble Cupcakes

Who loves marble cake? Who loves marble cake with a few extra goodies? I am definitely one of those people who do!

Chocolate Marble Cupcakes

 

These Aren’t just marble cupcakes, they have a small addition to them which takes them to a whole new level-Dark and white chocolate chips!  They absolutely rock

I had a small amount of each of chocolate and vanilla Swiss Meringue buttercream that needed using up my initial thoughts were to mix them together, add more chocolate and make chocolate buttercream.  Then I thought, maybe marble cupcakes and use the buttercreams and get a 2 tone effect. As I was getting my eggs to start baking I suddenly caught a glimpse of my  10kilo bags of chocolate drops… and thought, what better idea than to mix them into the cupcake batter!

callebaut

 

The cupcakes were seriously good! I don’t eat much chocolate myself but I think I am converted! They are very simple make, exactly like normal marble cake with just the addition of chocolate chips

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 

 

 

I used spoons initially to put batter into cases,

SONY DSC

 

but halfway through it I decided to use my ice cream scoop alternating between the 2 cake batter bowls

SONY DSC

 

I think it gave a much better marbling effect and similar size cupcakes

chocolate marble cupcakes

 

 

 

Okay, now for the recipe. It makes 18 cupcakes (I use muffin size cases)

Ingredients

250g butter at room temperature
250g caster sugar
4 LARGE eggs
250g self-raising flour
4 tbsp water
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp cocoa powder

50g white chocolate chips

50g dark chocolate chips

 

Method

Preheat oven to 150 degrees fan/ 170 conventional

Beat the butter and sugar together, then add the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Fold in the flour, water and vanilla extract

Divide mixture into 2 bowls, stir in cocoa powder into one of the bowls. Into the bowl with plain vanilla stir in the dark chocolate chips, and into the chocolate batter stir in the white chocolate chips

Using your ice cream scoop fill alternately with batter from the 2 bowl and place into cupcake cases

Bake the cupcakes for 20-25 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. Leave to cool before frosting.

If you’ve not 2 tone iced cupcakes here is a good video tutorial on How to 2 tone ice cupcakes

Enjoy!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Over The Top Chocolate Marble Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Over The Top Chocolate Marble Cupcakes | Photographic Opportunities

Leave a Reply

